During Holstein UK’s Annual Meeting (AGM) saw the Society elect a new President and two new trustees. The AGM took place at the Grosvenor Pulford Hotel as part of the Holstein UK Celebration event.

A fond farewell was paid to Holstein UK President John Jamieson of the Firth herd, who stood down at the end of his 24 month term. Andrew Jones is the Society’s new President.

Andrew, of Rossett Holsteins, Wrexham, has a great love for the breed and the people involved.  Andrew and his wife Jenny are looking forward to devoting their time to meeting members.

Having completed his second term on the Board of Trustees, Michael Smale has stepped down as Board Chairman and representative of the Far Western region. The South East and Eastern region’s representative, Peter Prior, has also stepped down after seven years in office.

Wallace Gregg has taken over as Holstein UK Chairman following Michael Smale’s departure from the board.   North Western representative Jane Whittaker (Knowlesmere), Lancashire representative John Hartley (Roughwood) and East Midlands representative Matthew Winter (Corringham) were re-elected for their second terms of office. Dawn Coryn, based in Cornwall, has been elected as the representative for the Far Western region.

Wallace Patton has been elected as a second representative for Northern Ireland.

Holstein UK is a member-owned organisation aimed at assisting members in breeding profitable, robust and productive dairy cattle.