A new president has been elected to Holstein UK and two new trustees have also been appointed.

Robert Clare (Hawksmoor) was elected as president at the the Holstein UK Annual General Meeting (AGM) which was streamed online on July 1.

Michael Smale, Holstein UK chairman, said: “Thank you to our retiring President Bryan Thomas and all of his family for the considerable time they have given to the society over the past 12 months.

"We have been honoured to have someone who is so highly respected as our president.

"I must also congratulate Robert on his new appointment and I would like to wish him all the best for the forthcoming year.”

Robert is a highly respected member of the Shropshire Club and has been a dedicated member of the society for more than 50 years.

He was born at Hawksmoor, near Market Drayton, Shropshire, where he grew up and took over the running of the Hawksmoor herd 52 years ago.

Hawksmoor have been Champion Herd of the Shropshire Club for eight consecutive years, 2011 – 2018, and were reserve National Champion Herd in 2017. Robert has judged County Herd Competitions in Devon, Staffordshire, Cheshire, South Wales, Derbyshire, The Midlands and Scotland.

Read more: Holstein UK announces All Britain Award winners

Following the end of their second terms on the board of trustees, Stephen Brough has stood down from representing the Northern region and Aled Jones has stood down from representing North Wales.

Commenting, Michael Smale said; “I would like to thank both Stephen and Aled for their work, expertise and experience they have given to the Board over the past eight years. Having both been elected on to the Board in 2011, they have now finalised two four year terms and have been fantastic advocates of both the breed and the society.”

The new trustees are Andrew Williamson (Ingleden) for the Northern region and William Williams (Clwch) for the North Wales region.

Peter Prior (Designer) and Wallace Gregg (Frocess) were re-elected into their second term of office.